Congratulations to Award Winners!

by Laura Crockett
Scribbles & Wanderlust

This weekend, Philadelphia hosted the ALA Midwinter meetings and exhibits, where the winners for the Caldecott, Newbery, and Printz awards were announced.

The Caldecott Medal is awarded annually to the artist of the “most distinguished American picture book for children.” Many times the artwork is simple, conveying the story through the whitespace; today’s winner is one of detail, emotion, and pure storytelling through the artist’s historical accuracy. Brian Floca’s Locomotive won the Caldecott, with three other Honors books: Aaron Becker’s Journey, Molly Idle’s Flora and the Flamingo, and David Wiesner’s Mr. Wuffles!.

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the “most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.” So many beloved classics are Newbery winners, and Kate DiCamillo’s won yet another (her first the adorable The Tale of Despereaux) with Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures. Four other Honors included Holly Black’s Doll Bones, Kevin Henkes’s The Year of Billy Miller, Amy Timberlake’s One Came Home, and Vince Vawter’s Paperboy

The Printz Award is awarded annually to the author of the best book for teens based on its literary merit. This year’s winner is Marcus Sedgwick for Midwinterblood, an excellent blend of the strongest YA themes and subgenres today: fantasy, history, paranormal, horror, beauty, love, and preservation. Four other Honors were awarded to the stunning Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park, Susann Cokal’s Kingdom of Little Wounds, Sally Gardner’s Maggot Moon, and Clare Vanderpool’s Navigating Early.

To see more information, including the other awards and honors presented today, hop on over to Publishers Weekly’s announcement. Feel free to follow the #alamw14 and #alayma hashtags on Twitter to see the reactions, links to other news sources, celebrations, and book reviews!