Thoughts on Banning Books

I’ve tweeted a fair amount this week about Banned Book Week. Every year it bothers me. What are people thinking? I was naïve about the practice of banning books until my daughter’s school (which she didn’t attend for very long) banned the Harry Potter series. I didn’t know much about Harry Potter at the time, but decided I had better read the book to see why the parents and the school were in such a panic.

At the time, it wasn’t the act of banning the book that I found so shocking, but rather the multitude of reasons parents and administrators wanted the book banned. I sat there speechless as Biblical quotes about devil worshipping were slung across the room. Don’t let me mislead you, however, into thinking this was simply a religious objection. Concerns about living in a fantasy world, practicing magic to defeat evil was unrealistic, Harry and his pals are rule breakers, they don’t listen to the adults, teachers are portrayed as strange and/or unsympathetic or too sympathetic, Hagrid is a bad influence, what happens is too unrealistic, and the list went on and on and on. I was left then to quote a colleague, “Are you joking me?”

I would not presume to tell parents they must allow their child to read a certain book – that is no better than banning; but I would ask these same parents to make sure they are accurately informed about the content of a book and converse with their child appropriately. By all means make your own choices for your children, but please do not prevent books from getting into the hands of other children – it simply is not your right.

For some kids, a book may be their only companion. The story may be their story, and a character may help give them insight into to the world. Books with difficult topics could lead to great conversations about beliefs, morals, and all of the gray area we navigate every single day.

My hope is that there won’t be a need to celebrate Banned Book Week going forward, and books will no longer be banned for their themes, content, characters, or situations. The needs and wants of the few cannot be forced upon the many. But unless those of us who are shocked by book banning do more than sit in shock, unless we all say “NO,” books will continue to be banned.

I say “NO.”

Anne Converse Willkomm
Director, Graduate Publishing Programs
Rosemont College

Leave a Reply

